Professional conference of the AUSAM

Medical Cannabinoids in the service of patients

Science vs. Ideology
(approbated for 5 DFP credits, Event-ID 660121)

  • MEDICAL CANNABINOIDS CONFERENCE 2019 10. October 2019
  • Congress Center, Pacific 1-3
FavIcon
3:00 - 3:55 pm: Registration Speaker Team of the Medical Cannabinoids ConferenceOrganisation

Arrival and registration in the hotel lobby of the Eventhotel Pyramid

Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto-Michael Lesch
4:00 - 4:05 pm: Opening of the Medical Cannabinoids Conference 2019 Speaker Univ. Prof. Dr. LeschConference Chairman

Welcome by the conference chairman and then introductory words. Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto-Michael Lesch is a specialist in psychiatry and psychotherapy and president of the Austrian society for addiction medicine as well as board member of the International Academy of Law and Mental Health.

4:05 - 4:30 pm: Basic mechanisms of pain therapy Speaker Prim. Univ. Prof. Dr. Wilfried Ilias, MScSpecialist in anesthesiology and intensive care

Basic mechanisms of pain therapy

The importance of phyto molecules that can be used medically is great and will therefore be intensively researched ethnopharmacologically.

The nociception takes place via complex interlocking receptor systems, which perceive stimuli that are partly selective, partly concerted, transmitted to the central nervous system, and trigger a counter reaction there. In addition, the nervous system has neuronal synapses, which are also receptor-controlled, the ability to amplify or inhibit incoming signals via interneurons.

Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto-Michael Lesch
4:30 – 4:55 pm: Etiology of addiction – Gateway drug Cannabis? Speaker Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto-Michael LeschSpecialist for psychiatry and psychotherapy

There are always many self-proclaimed experts on this topic, but they are mostly unfamiliar with psychiatric and psychological research on addiction. Since about 1980, especially two theories on addiction have been discussed ...

4:55 - 5:20 pm: Addiction & pain - basic pharmacological mechanisms Speaker Prof. Tanja Bagar, Ph.D.Micro biologist

Lecture in english

Cells are not just simple building blocks, unconscious and static as bricks in a wall. Cells can detect what’s going on around them, and they can respond in real-time to cues from their neighboring cells and environment. At any moment, cells are sending and receiving millions of messages in the form of chemical signaling molecules and at any given moment there are over 10.000 biochemical reactions taking place inside each cell. One of the ways how cells communicate is also via cannabinoids.

5:20 - 5:45 pm: Importance of the mechanisms of the endocannabinoid system Speaker MD Astrid Pinsger-PlankOrthopedist & President of the Pain Association

Over 500 million years ago, a highly complex transmitter system developed in all vertebrates, which seems to be responsible for processing the perception of internal and external stimuli at the neurophysiological level and translating it into patterns of behavior. Survival-critical reactions, such as anxiety or stress, are regulated by an interaction of various receptors and their ligands, in particular the CB1 and CB2 receptors, in order to allow adaptation to changes in and out of the body.

5:45 - 6:15 pm: Coffee break & networking
6:15 - 6:40 pm: Cannabis for Neuropsychiatric Disorders – challenge, treatment opportunity or obvious danger? Speaker Dr. Ilya Reznik, M.D.Specialist for Forensic & Clinical Neuro-Psychiatry

Lecture in english

The discovery of the endocannabinoid system and its critical role in neurotransmission and homeostasis of the limbic system and other brain areas provide a rationale for utilization of properly formulated cannabis-based medicines in treatment of different neuropsychiatric conditions.

6:40 - 7:05 pm: Significance of mechanisms in Pediactric Neurology – How cannabis works in children with neurological conditions Speaker Prof. PhD MD David Neubauer Neurologist

Lecture in english

The interest of researchers, the pharmaceutical industry and especially clinicians for treatment with cannabinoids (especially cannabidiol – CBD) and natural cannabis products (or medicinal grade cannabis – MGC, which also contains certain amounts of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol – THC) has increased enormously during the past decade. At the beginning there were just anecdotal reports about the benefits of these substances for use with children having resistant epilepsies and some other severe neurological conditions. Thereafter, afew open-label studies appeared on a small number of such children, confirming the efficacy of cannabidiol and MGC and today there are multicentre and randomised, double blind, placebo-controlled trials confirming these facts…

7:05 - 7:30 pm: Significance of mechanisms in gynecology and therapeutic approaches Speaker MD Iris PleyerGynecologist & obstetrician

The general pain experience - its severity and intensity and the effectiveness of the treatments - depends on many psychological, cultural and personal factors.

The medical treatment of pain in gynecology is often inadequate and associated with a high rate of recurrence. The pain mechanisms can be very diverse and the patients often suffer from diffuse and poorly localized severe pain.

FavIcon
7:30 - 8:00 pm: Discussion panel Speaker All speakers

Discussion round with all speakers

Austrian Medical Academy - Educational calender

Event – Congress / Event-ID:
660121 | Medical Cannabinoids Conference

Lectures in German and English | Simultanous translation available

OUR SPONSORS

We would like to thank our sponsors!

MAIN SPONSORS

Cooperation partner

Fachkonferenz der AUSAM

Medizinische Cannabinoide im Dienste des Patienten

Wissenschaft vs. Ideologie
(approbiert für 5 DFP-Punkte, Fortbidlungs-ID 660121)

  • MEDICAL CANNABINOIDS CONFERENCE 2019 10. Oktober 2019
  • Congress Center, Pacific 1-3
FavIcon
15:00 – 15:55 Uhr: Registrierung Sprecher Team der Medical Cannabinoids ConferenceOrganisation

Ankunft und Registrierung im Hotelfoyer des Eventhotel Pyramide

Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto-Michael Lesch
16:00 – 16:05 Uhr: Eröffnung der Medical Cannabinoids Conference 2019 Sprecher Univ. Prof. Dr. LeschWissenschaftliche Leitung

Begrüßung durch ärztliche Leitung und anschließend einleitende Worte. Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto-Michael Lesch ist Facharzt für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie und President der österreichischen Gesellschaft für Suchtmedizin sowie Board Member der International Academy of Law and Mental Health.

16:05 – 16:30 Uhr: Basismechanismen der Schmerztherapie Sprecher Prim. Univ. Prof. Dr. Wilfried Ilias, MScFacharzt für Anäthesiologie und Intensivmedizin

„Basismechanismen der Schmerztherapie“

Die Bedeutung pflanzlicher Moleküle die medizinisch genutzt werden können ist groß und wird deshalb auch intensiv ethnopharmakologisch erforscht wird.

Die Nozizeption läuft über komplexe in einander greifende Rezeptorsysteme die teils selektiv, teils konzertiert Reize wahrnehmen, an das Zentralnervensystem weiterleiten und dort eine Gegenreaktion auslösen. Darüber hinaus verfügt das Nervensystem über neuronale Synapsen, welche ebenfalls Rezeptorgesteuert sind die Möglichkeit eingehende Signale über Interneurone zu verstärken oder zu hemmen.

Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto-Michael Lesch
16:30 – 16:55 Uhr: Ätiologie der Sucht – Einstiegsdroge Cannabis? Sprecher Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto-Michael LeschFacharzt für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie

Zu diesem Thema melden sich immer viele selbsternannte Experten, die aber meist mit psychiatrischer und psychologischer Forschung zur Suchtentstehung nur wenig vertraut sind. Seit etwa 1980 werden vor allem 2 Theorien zur Suchtentstehung diskutiert…

16:55 – 17:20 Uhr: Sucht & Schmerz – grundlegende pharmakologische Mechanismen Sprecher Prof. Dr. Tanja BagarMicrobiologin

Vortrag in Englisch

Zellen sind nicht nur einfache Bausteine, bewusstlos und statisch wie Ziegelsteine ​​in einer Wand. Zellen können erkennen, was um sie herum vor sich geht, und in Echtzeit auf Hinweise von benachbarten Zellen und ihrer Umgebung reagieren. Zu jedem Zeitpunkt senden und empfangen Zellen Millionen von Nachrichten in Form von chemischen Signalmolekülen, und zu jedem Zeitpunkt finden in jeder Zelle über 10.000 biochemische Reaktionen statt. Die Kommunikation zwischen Zellen erfolgt unter anderem auch über Cannabinoide.

17:20 – 17:45 Uhr: Stellenwert der Mechanismen des Endocannabinoid-Systems Sprecher Dr. med. Astrid Pinsger-PlankOrthopädin & Präsidentin des Schmerzverbands

Vor über 500 Millionen Jahren entwickelte sich ein hochkomplexes Transmittersystem in allen Wirbeltieren, das seither dafür zuständig zu sein scheint, die Wahrnehmung von internen und externen Reizen auf neurophysiologischer Ebene zu verarbeiten und in Verhaltensmuster zu übersetzen. Überlebenswichtige Reaktionen wie Angst oder Stress werden über ein Zusammenspiel verschiedenster Rezeptoren und deren Liganden, hier seien vor allem die CB1- und CB2-Rezeptoren erwähnt, reguliert um eine Anpassung auf Veränderungen in und außerhalb des Körpers zu ermöglichen.

17:45 – 18:15 Uhr: Pause & Networking
18:15 – 18:40 Uhr: Cannabis für neuropsychiatrische Erkrankungen – Herausforderung, Behandlungsmöglichkeit oder offensichtliche Gefahr? Sprecher Dr. med. Ilya ReznikSpezialist für Forensische & Klinische Neuro-Psychiatrie

Vortrag in Englisch

Die Entdeckung des Endocannabinoidsystems und seine entscheidende Rolle bei der Neurotransmission und Homöostase des limbischen Systems und anderer Hirnregionen liefern eine Begründung für die Verwendung korrekt formulierter Cannabis-Arzneimittel bei der Behandlung verschiedener neuropsychiatrischer Erkrankungen.

18:40 – 19:05 Uhr: Bedeutung von Mechanismen in der pädiatrischen Neurologie – Wie Cannabis bei Kindern mit neurologischen Erkrankungen wirkt Sprecher Prof. Dr. med. David Neubauer Neurologe

Vortrag in Englisch

Das Interesse der Forscher, der Pharmaindustrie und insbesondere der Kliniker an der Behandlung mit Cannabinoiden (insbesondere Cannabidiol – CBD) und natürlichen Cannabisprodukten (oder medizinischem Cannabis – MGC, das auch bestimmte Mengen von Delta-9-Tetrahydrocannabinol – THC enthält) ist im letzten Jahrzehnt enorm gestiegen. Zu Beginn gab es nur vereinzelte Berichte über den Nutzen dieser Substanzen bei Kindern mit resistenten Epilepsien und einigen anderen schweren neurologischen Erkrankungen. Danach erschienen einige offene Studien mit einer kleinen Anzahl solcher Kinder, die die Wirksamkeit von Cannabidiol und MGC bestätigten. Heute gibt es multizentrische und randomisierte, doppelblinde, placebokontrollierte Studien, die diese Tatsachen bestätigen.

19:05 – 19:30 Uhr: Stellenwert der Mechanismen in der Gynäkologie und Therapieansätze Sprecher Dr. med. Iris PleyerGynäkologin & Geburtshelferin

Das allgemeine Schmerzerlebnis – seine Schwere und Intensität sowie die Wirksamkeit der Behandlungen – hängt von vielen psychologischen, kulturellen und persönlichen Faktoren ab.

Die medizinische Behandlung von Schmerzen in der Gynäkologie ist häufig unzureichend und mit einer hohen Rezidivrate verbunden. Die Schmerzmechanismen können sehr vielfältig sein und die Patientinnen leiden häufig unter diffusen und schlecht lokalisierten starken Schmerzen.

FavIcon
19:30 – 20:00 Uhr: Diskussionsrunde Sprecher Alle Referenten

Diskussionsrunde mit allen Referenten

Akademie der Ärzte – Fortbildungskalender

Veranstaltung – Kongress / Fortbildungs-ID:
660121 | Medical Cannabinoids Conference

Vorträge in Deutsch und Englisch | Simultanübersetzung vorhanden

UNSERE SPONSOREN

Wir bedanken uns bei unseren Sponsoren!

HAUPTSPONSOREN

Kooperationspartner